My Boston Sofa Bed – The Foley’s

A spectacular reunion with Miss Brittney Foley, after not seeing my Seppo Roomie from 104 (Whoop Campus East, Post Grad!) for almost 8 years….. I jumped on the train from NYC up to Boston, Massachusetts.

Reunited!

Reunited!

With a local in charge, we had a lunchtime tour of some Boston sights, I enjoyed my first New England Clam Chowder in bread bowl complete with oyster crackers…. and a Snapple. I devoured it all, whilst we sat in the square outside Quincy Market and got a lecture on giving to homeless people by a Bostonian…. I took the candid Cheers! photo, tried some Boston Chipyard Cookies (YUM… to DIE FOR), then explored Faneuil Hall.

Lunch, Faneuil Hall, Cheers! Mate and Quincy Market

Lunch, Faneuil Hall, Cheers! Mate and Quincy Market

More sightseeing planned for day 2, we trained it into Boston after stopping by Brittney’s work to try my tastebuds with a Marylou’s iced coffee. This place is sensational. Any flavour you could imagine…. I had to get Britz to start me off, I think it was a chocolate hazelnut delish concoction, from memory, and it was awesome. Set me on the upward coffee high for a day packed with sightseeing!
We got tickets for the hop-on hop-off bus, at student price (bargain! thank goodness I was wearing my SPRINGFIELD COLLEGE t-shirt ;-P more on that later) and off we went on a tour of the lovely Boston. With time short, we made only a few stops, had to get off at Fenway Park of course!

Photo-bombed by the bus driver; Marylou's pink explosion; Home of the Red Sox.

Photo-bombed by the bus driver; Marylou’s pink explosion; Home of the Red Sox.

We wandered through the community gardens, awesome space for people to try their green thumb (again, I am so inspired to grow some veggies and flowers when I get back to AUS), then I “ohhhh”ed and “ahhhh”ed at the awesome architecture and had a moment at the Boston Marathon finish line.

I just loved the mix between beautiful old architecture and new shiny modern skyscrapers….

IMG_1363

Lunchtime! Brittney’s Uncle Rich very kindly shouted us an AMAZING lunch at a restaurant with a beautiful view. Sam’s certainly put on a show, located at the South Seaport with a lovely view of the harbour and phenomenal food, it was a lovely afternoon spent with great company!

Fine food, views and wonderful company!

Fine food, views and wonderful company!

We then had time to line up at Modern Bakery for delicious bakery treats… There are two “institutions” in Northport, Boston when it comes to baked goods. Mike’s Bakery versus Modern Bakery. Both have lines out the door with people waiting in the hot sun for their awesome cakes, truffles and MACAROONS! Now those who know me well, realise I cannot go past an average bakery… so when I find a good one…. chaos hits! Macaroons for the Foley Fam, carrot cake, eclairs. We went all out.

Potato Skins; the Foley Castle (featuring Guinness the dog); Foley Brewing Co delicious Raspberry Blonde; Baked goods....

Potato Skins; the Foley Castle (featuring Guinness the dog); Foley Brewing Co delicious Raspberry Blonde; Baked goods….

These baked goods went down well with our Foley Feast, delicious home cooked dinner with all the family, accompanied by a GREAT home brew courtesy of Mr Craig Foley of Foley Brewing Company, and Kim’s AMAZING dessert that was cream, Oreo and all things delicious. I also had the pleasure of experiencing a potato skin from UNO, thanks to the lovely Nicole! A deep dish pizza with mashed potato, cheese and bacon…. tick tick tick. We ate and drank the night away with a fire bucket, awesome tunes and an exciting firecracker display (they will know what I’m talking about ;-P)

Boston turning on the sunset!

Boston turning on the sunset!

I am also now FINALLY the proud owner of a Springfield College t-shirt. When we lived together in 2006, Britz would wear her college shirt and I would get drunk and tell her to get me one so I could be “Lisa Simpson from Springfield!”… so bless her soul, she did…. but never actually sent it to me! I had to visit her to receive it so  almost 8 years later….

Mix up, UOW and Springfield College!

Mix up, UOW and Springfield College!

Britz, thank you for being a spectacular hostess and showing me the sighted. Thanks to the rest of the Foley Family for making me feel welcome and attempting torn at least humouring me with my vegemite and avocado on toast!

Stay healthy and happy Britz! You have such a lovely family and wonderful friends, thanks for sharing them with me!

Lise xx

PS Go to Boston, the “cawfee” is great, driving a “car” is safe and there are plenty of fine “bar’s”… 😛 wish the Boston accent was better on paper! (Sorry, couldn’t help myself!)

One thought on “My Boston Sofa Bed – The Foley’s

Leave a comment